New to the 421

Home 2024 Forums Opening Section General Topics New to the 421

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 40 total)
  • Author

I am a 2,100 hour pilot where ALL 2000 hours was in the same plane, a Seneca II. I have flown that plane since 1994 and it fits like a glove! I fly single pilot IFR down to minimums and would know what the plane was going to do before it did and all my landings were “greasers”. Well that was until I purchased a 1978 421C thinking I was just moving up to a faster, pressurized airplane that would be more comfortable for the grandkids. Now I feel like I’m a student pilot all over again trying to find all the switches, understanding new systems and navigating different avioinics. The two biggest issues I have is the feeling of being behind the airplane and not being able to land as smoothly as I am used to. (Even after spending a week at Simcom). I am sure this will all change with time, but I am looking for anyone else’s experiences (and words of wisdom) with moving up to a 421C. Right now I feel like a fish out of water πŸ™

Welcome to our “clan”, you will find the 421 a very sound aircraft, as long as it is flown within its design limits, the last few acidents North of the border were all caused by folks asking too much from the aircraft and/or not understanding the systems. As for smooth landings, no one ever got killed droping an aircraft in from six inches, as one who flew from a deck during my miss -spent youth and the flew the heavy iron for a living, smooth landings are not a “must” and looking at this Winters crop of overuns can cost you a lot to fix bent metal, we watched one aircraft “feeling” for a smooth one, only to slide into the snow banks at the far end, his explanation that “the boss wants smooth landings” just did not cut much ice with the TSB! You will find the combined wisdom of the “Twin Cessna” members a great help both from a hands and feet and technical aspect, well worth the membership.