Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author

I spoke to Charles White at Micro Aero today to follow up on information he gave Trevor Steel a few years ago on Micro VGs for the T303. Citing slow progress thorough the FAA he thinks it will be at least a year before we can get VGs.
    If you are interested I would suggest you contact Charles and add your name to his list of Crusaders.
    Charles White, Micro Aero, 800.677.2370
    http://www.microaero.com, micro@microaero.com
    John Hodgson N1385V KMEV

bthomason
    Participant
      quote JHODGSON:

… Micro VGs for the T303.

John, I’m new to the 303 but I’m amazed at the slow speed characteristics of the airplane as is. What are the projected benefits of VG’s for the 303?

rtowe
      Participant

I responded to Charles and this is the response I received:

I would be overjoyed, delighted and thrilled to develop a Micro VG Kit for the beautiful Cessna 303 Crusader. BUT — even with 50 lbs above gross the 303 will not meet single engine rate-of-climb. Not enough horsepower. And all the 303 owners want a Gross Weight Increase.

The good news though is that you get 20% discount on the models listed on our web site <micro@microaero.com> When you get an order just phone us with the N=number, Serial Number, Shipping Address and any credit card. (painting charge is $200.)

Charles at Micro Aero

Not really sure what to think about the potential opportunity for VG’s…

rtowe
        Participant

Ok, just got an email from Charles regarding the VG’s…Here is what he wrote:

Robert: Yes, we could do the FAA STC work for approval of VGs on the 303. But here is the deal —–It costs us around $60,000 to do the certification. If I had about 6 owners ready to make a deposit, YES, we could go ahead. …….Charles

That being said, are there any takers? I’m in…

Bob, what I would like is any gross weight increase. Slow speed improvement would be nice of course but that is not a great interest, John