Late model 414A or 421C?

Home 2024 Forums Opening Section Buying a Twin Cessna Late model 414A or 421C?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 31 total)
  • Author
    aherrmann
    Participant

Hi….I am a newbie and royally confused. I am looking to get into a late model (1981 to 1985) 414A RAM VII and have been doing a ton of research on operating costs, motors, etc.. Recently I talked to a 421 owner and he said the geared motor are great and loved the airplane. With all my research all I have heard is how expensive the geared 421 motors are and thus the 414A is the plane to have. I know I am opening up a can of worms, but what are your thoughts are experiences? Thanks much for the help. I love the plane and now it’s a matter of which one. Help!

quote aherrmann:

Hi….I am a newbie and royally confused. I am looking to get into a late model (1981 to 1985) 414A RAM VII and have been doing a ton of research on operating costs, motors, etc.. Recently I talked to a 421 owner and he said the geared motor are great and loved the airplane. With all my research all I have heard is how expensive the geared 421 motors are and thus the 414A is the plane to have. I know I am opening up a can of worms, but what are your thoughts are experiences? Thanks much for the help. I love the plane and now it’s a matter of which one. Help!

Get the 421C. The GTSIO engine is a good engine, and some people who know engines a lot better than I do have called it the best engine Continental ever made.

I think it says a lot that the 340 & 414 have a ton of different engine upgrades available, but the 421 does not. Cessna and Continental got it right with the 421.

The ability to cruise with the prop rpm down at 17-1800 makes the cabin relatively quiet and my passengers don’t bother wearing headsets and can converse normally.

You’ll also have a lot more options if you are looking for 421s than if you are looking for a very specific RAM 414.