Introduction

Home 2024 Forums Opening Section General Topics Introduction

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

Hello all, I’m new to TTCF. Thought I’d introduce myself.

I do a decent amount of flying (500-600 hours per year the past three years). Most of the flying I do is with the non-profit organization I formed, Cloud Nine Rescue Flights. I also fly Part 135 in a Navajo and Turbine Commander.

My background includes being an engineer who ran aircraft engines on test stands a great deal. I’ve done most of the things to these engines that one should never do (intentionally), including detonation testing, cold starting, general poor treatment.

Cloud Nine has a Cessna 310N that my wife and I do all the maintenance decisions and flying of. Right now it’s a Colemill Executive 600 variant with the engines 400 hours past TBO. We’re working on what we want to do for the engines, and have several options we’re working out. Given the nature of what we use the plane for (long trips), more speed is what we want. The plane is nicely equipped with de-ice, KWX56, Aspen, 530W, GMA340, and GTX327. Other than the engines, most of the rest of the upgrades we have planned are avionics.

Looking forward to participating in the forum!

Hi, Ted!

Sounds like a nice 310. I’ll be curious about your engine overhaul choices since mine are at about 1320 hrs. I’ll go as far as I can toward 1600… My exhaust systems are out for the 12-yr repetitive AD inspection, pipes to Knisely Welding and turbos/wastegates to Main Turbo… Everything looked good when we took it apart. Turbos and pipes had nearly 1800 hrs, so I’ll keep operating “Best Power” mixture 🙂

You mention more speed … How much do you lose running LOP?