C340A RAM VI – LOP w GAMI

Home 2024 Forums Opening Section Operational Issues C340A RAM VI – LOP w GAMI

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    rstanley
    Participant

HAs anybody been running LOP on their 340 ?
      If so what are the results ?
      THanks
      Richard

rwelsh
      Participant

Richard, I have been running LOP on my 340 for 10 years and 1300 hours. I have Insight G3 engine monitors to keep tabs on the engine parameters (before that Insight 610s). I normally use 34″ and 2350 RPM and burn 15.2 to 15.8 GPH per side depending on altitude and OAT and get 200 to 204 KTAS from FL210 and higher. If the OAT is high like ISA +15 or higher, I need to use 2450 to 2550 RPM in order to get enough mass airflow to keep the turbos from losing MP when LOP when above FL220. I have AA intercoolers and develop around 70% power with the above settings. My CHTs run from 315 to 375 dF with the EGTs 1610 to 1550 dF. My EGTs peak from 1670 to 1590 dF.

If the OAT is too high, I cannot keep it LOP above FL230 without a lot of RPM and higher CHTs. So if you see the OAT is above ISA+10 in the winds aloft forecast, then flightplan for FL210.

When I descend, I leave the throttles and mixture where they were in cruise until pattern altitude. I usually start down about 100 miles out unless I have a huge tailwind as you want the cabin to come down about 500 feet per minute which can be a limiting factor. If you start down too late, then you will need to reduce the throttle which will make the cabin pressure very hard to control as the cabin pressure controller needs boost to maintain cabin pressure. Don’t forget, the boost for the cabin pressure comes from through the sonic venturi which limits the amount of boost that can get through the venturi hole. Sometimes you have to pressure the ATC controller to let you down that far out, but you need to be firm on the clearance as your’s and your passenger’s ears don’t like rapid changes.