C340 Purchase Questions

Home 2024 Forums Opening Section Buying a Twin Cessna C340 Purchase Questions

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author

Many thanks to members for the outstanding information on the various forums.

I have been researching the advertised 340’s for a few months now and hope to be ready to make a purchase in the next few months. At this point, I am trying to prepare a list of must have’s for getting started. My plan is to use the aircraft weekly on 800nmi trips. Any comments on the following subjects will be appreciated:

1. Engine fire extinguishers: I have found few 340’s with extinguishers installed however have read numerous comments which suggest they are a good idea.

2. Spoilers: Any suggestions?

3. Autopilot: Ideally I would like a good quality Autopilot and flight director. If the aircraft is not currently equipped, my plan would be to upgrade to Garmin avionics and EFIS when time and finances permit.

4. Fresh annual with purchase: Numerous aircraft are offered for sale with run out annuals. Given that a pre buy will be accomplished at a repair station with appropriate expertise, would you suggest including the annual in the purchase price or does it matter?

Thank you for any suggestions.

Hi