Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

Hi,
    I am new to the Twin Cessna Flyer and need some information and advise. I am interested in buying a T310R with preferably FIKI or at least deiced. There is a 310 for sale but is missing the hot plate and I was wondering how hard they are to find and how much they cost. I would also like to know what to look for in a 310 as far as maintenance issues or modifications. Any information or advise would be appreciated.

Thanks,
    Robert

Hi Robert,

This is a pretty detailed and complex question as far as what to look for. The best advice I can give is to do a good Prebuy and it’s usually cheaper to find a plane with the avionics you want. I think the RAM upgrades for the plane do help it’s performance and safety, especially short field. You may not care. Just flew a friend’s RAM IV T310R and loved it. Since you said T310R I’m guessing turbo is a requirement. The Colemill 310R is a nice package as well, I liked flying it with 550s.

The hot plate can be added. There are varying opinions on de-ice vs FIKI, but I personally don’t care so long as I have boots and prop heat. AC is nice to have, especially if you live in a hot climate.

A good Prebuy will look for the major issues like ADs, corrosion, etc. Depending on your location, there are several good specialty shops that can help.

Is there a specific reason you’re interested in an R? Just to play devil’s advocate, the N that I fly is a little smaller, but more efficient and more fun. Also, the long nose of an R makes it harder to fit in a hangar length wise and you do pay a price premium. The main benefit is that it is newer and has the nose baggage as well as the hunchback cabin that is a bit bigger.

If you’d like to chat about it some send me a PM and I’ll give you my phone number.

Ted,