boot maintenance

Home 2024 Forums Opening Section General Topics boot maintenance

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 19 total)
  • Author

Guys,

I am new to operating with boots (my last plane had TKS) and curious what most folks use for treating their boots. I’ve heard icex II works great from guys at MMOPA (I was looking at Meridians prior to purchasing my 414A) and still have an active membership). My boots look to be in good shape and shiny however I would like to coat them with something like the icex product if that’s what most owners do. If so can I just apply over whatever product is currently in place? Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Jeff

Hi Jeff,

Welcome! I previously had a SR22 with TKS. This is what I do.

Ideally you will have:
    1) Boot stripper and boot coat like the stuff twin cessna flyer sells
    2) BF goodrich agemaster
    3) Conductive boot cement (will need to get you the part number for this)

1) Clean with soap and water, dry completely

2) Use the boot stripper and then clean, dry completely again

3) Mask the painted areas including the conductive cement area (at the edge of the boot)

4) Apply the crazy expensive age master of which you will need very little to the boot per instructions. Best if you do not fly for days after as it can run back a bit.

5) Removing masking and remask paint along conductive cement line. Apply conductive cement per instructions. This helps to prevent pin holes in the boots (static charge issues)

6) I would wait a day or to for this to dry, then apply the boot coat in one or two light steps.

7) I have not used Ice-X, but I understand this would go on top of the boat coat

Seems like trouble but the agemaster will really help extend the life of the boots and the top coats offer UV protection, better ice shedding, etc.