421 Cost of maintenance – (Please share your info)!

Home 2024 Forums Opening Section Buying a Twin Cessna 421 Cost of maintenance – (Please share your info)!

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author

Newbie here and am interested in stepping up to a 421. I have been searching the internet high and low and have read all the articles I could find. Have also talked to several people in the field regarding these planes.

The only piece of information that I get conflicting reports about is the maintenance costs. I have heard anywhere from $25K to $100K per year. I have also heard that “if you have to ask then you can’t afford it!” which I think is silly!

So, can you 421 drivers out there please tell us wannabes what is it costing you to maintain these? Not considering all the fixed costs, just the maintenance. On average, what has it cost you annually to maintain your 421 (including the annual, not including upgrades)?

I appreciate your responses in advance.

It is hard to draw strong conclusions on maint data as much depends on the initial state of the plane, the flight history, maint shop, etc.

Basic annual is about 60+ hrs at 65-85 per hr. There is also AD compliance for exhaust, starter adapters, inlet flow valves, etc on top of this.

What may have been ok with the last shop will not be ok with the new shop. Things will fail over time, etc. That said, here is my partial list, all $ figures approx. First number is part cost, 2nd is labor:

1) Battery replaced with Concorde (proactive) $450/$60
    2) Exhaust elbow replaced (Caught it just after it started to crack) $400/$120
    3) Alternator stopped putting power out ($500/$120)
    4) Iskra starter replaced with TCM (proactive) $500/$120
    5) Prop seal replaced ($50/$120)
    6) Elevator cable replaced ($400/$120)
    7) Visual exhaust inspections $120
    8) AP repaired ($500/$200)
    9) Oil cooler replaced ($500/$120)
    10) Oil changes ($500)